Henryetta footballers earn All-District awards

Free-Lance Sports Editor

With Vian's loss to Millwood last Friday in the Class 2A state quarterfinals, it is now time to release the All-District Awards list for 2A-5.

The six teams that made up District 2A-5 this year were the Henryetta Golden Knights, Vian Wolverines, Okemah Panthers, Holdenville Wolverines, Wewoka Tigers, and Haskell Haymakers.

Here are the final 2A-5 district standings in 2017 (overall record in parentheses):
Vian - 5-0 (10-2)
Okemah - 4-1 (7-4)
Holdenville - 2-3 (4-7)
Wewoka - 2-3 (2-9)
Henryetta - 1-4 (1-9)
Haskell - 1-4 (5-5)
The Golden Knights had six members of its 2017 team earn special All-District Awards.
Avery Moore and Seth Munoz were selected to the Second Team All-District, while the quartet of T.J. Boyles, Jarett Day, Morgan Dumond, and Kobe Johnson earned Honorable Mention All-District honors.
Below are the complete All-District Awards selections for District 2A-5.
2017 2A-5 All-District Football Awards 
Most Valuable Player - Bodhi Vann (Vian)
Offensive Player of the Year - Tayden Lucero (Haskell) and Corey Ramsey (Okemah)
Defensive Player of the Year - River Simon (Vian) and C.D. Harjo (Okemah)
QB of the Year - Kaden Boswell (Wewoka) and Jared Minor (Holdenville)
RB of the Year - David Norsworthy (Haskell)
WR of the Year - Darien Roberts (Wewoka)
TE of the Year - Christian Crist (Vian) and Isaiah Francis (Okemah)
Offensive Lineman of the Year - Ethan Williams (Okemah) and Bailey Merriel (Holdenville)
Inside Linebacker of the Year - Whitt Fletcher (Vian)
Outside Linebacker of the Year - Steven Tipton (Wewoka) and Chase Gibbs (Holdenville)
Defensive End of the Year - Kody Bradford (Okemah) and Kenan Loggins (Wewoka)
Defensive Lineman of the Year - Tyler Acosta (Okemah)
Cornerback of the Year - Colton Roberts (Okemah) and Tyler King (Wewoka)
Safety of the Year - Hayden Parsons (Vian) and Brylion Gross (Wewoka)
Special Teams Player of the Year - Darren Roberts (Okemah) and J.W. Tiger (Holdenville)
Injured Athlete of the Year - Sawyer Huff  (Holdenville)
Coaching Staff of the Year - Gary Willis (Vian) and Staff
Henryetta 2017 District Football Awards
Second Team All-District - Seth Munoz, Avery Moore
Honorable Mention All-District - T.J. Boyles, Jarett Day, Morgan Dumond, Kobe Johnson

Rate this article: 
No votes yet